The Family History Writing Challenge – My Wedding Day

Goodness me –  how things can go wrong in the blink of and eye!!  I have been unable to really participate in this challenge as on the evening of 2 Feb my computer “went on holiday”.  It has been in the repair shop until yesterday evening, but even now, there are still programs that I can’t access – important ones like Windows Live Mail and Windows Live Writer and other Windows related programs, and it will be going for another “operation” later today!

The single “Daily Dose” that I have received so far was about Cooking Up A Satisfying Scene, and so I got to work on writing the opening scene of my wedding day.  I was quietly happy with it and posted it to the forum for comment,  looking forward to hearing how others found my work.  When I logged in first thing this morning I found two people had made suggestions on how to better my opening scene.  Needless to say I went straight to work on reviewing my writing.  I went back over the information within the ‘Daily Dose” and took the instructions more literally, re-writing and lengthening my opening scene, and following the scene with a more relevant summary, and I feel much happier with the beginning of my story.

By all means, let me know what you think.

Second Draft:

“Can’t you shut those birds up?”

Suzie lay face down on her pillow as soft morning light poured through the window and a cacophony of beautiful Australian birdsong woke my best friend.  She was a city girl and completely unused to the daybreak noise of Aussie birdlife which was abundant in the tree’s around my flat in Piper Street.  “Wake up Suzie, it’s my wedding day!” I yelled as I shook her fully awake.

Suzie and I had been best friends from the day we started kindergarten together. We skipped, walked and ran to and from school, had fights with the boys from up the road, climbed the mulberry tree and took our fill of those luscious berries, shared laughter, good times and secrets, and had tea parties in my cubby house.

Life with Suzie was never dull, but I was fully aware that she struggled with mornings – so I took coffee into her, just to help ease the pain of getting out of bed!

November 1, 1980 dawned clear and fresh. A hot wind was blowing and it promised to be a scorcher of a day. As I sat on Suzie’s bed drinking coffee that morning I could barely sit still with the excitement that coursed through every fibre of my being. “So, how do you think you’ll do my hair?” I asked. Suzie was the best hairdresser I knew and I was dying to find out what she had planned for me, as well as my bridesmaids.

Just a few hours later I sat on a chair in the middle of my small kitchen as Suzie pinned the veil beneath a fall of soft curls, which she had painstakingly created.  “Okay, now you can look”, she said as she led me into my bedroom. There I stood in front of my dressing table mirror, with my hair softly piled high, staring at the gentle fall of the tulle of my waist length veil. My fingers caressed the stunning creamy lace and the thought of all the women who had worn the veil before me brought a lump to my throat.

As Suzie played with the fall of the veil I related the story of how it had originally been made for my grandmother, Ines Maude Smith, in 1908.  My mother, Madeleine Ines Bailey, had worn that same stunning, cathedral length veil in June of 1935. By the time my eldest sister Noeleen wanted to wear this precious heirloom in Aug 1960 the tulle had disintegrated in places. Noelene’s dressmaking skills were amply displayed as she lovingly transferred the lace, cream with age, on to waist length tulle for a more modern bridal veil. This frothy veil creation was worn again in August 1964 by my next sister Gwen.

Sixteen years later I wanted to carry on the family tradition of wearing “Granma’s veil”, so yet again Noeleen’s fingers worked magic by transferring the lace onto the off white tulle I had chosen.  My something borrowed was a treasure from the past.

Some of the lacework on my veil can be seen in the photograph below.

Let the Celebration Begin
Let the Celebration Begin

Leave a Reply

