Part 3 – Long Weekend June

Day 3 – Sunday 8 Jun 2014

Kel and I were up reasonably early and were keen to be on our way, although I always find it hard to say goodbye to Kimmy.  I don’t get to see her that often and we have so much fun together when we do get to see each other.  I do so wish that we lived closer to each other.

Kel and I found the traffic quite heavy all the way from Baulkham Hills until we reached the entry onto the freeway.  I thought Kellie handled the traffic really well though.  I hate Sydney traffic – cars cutting you off, trucks passing so close to you that a piece of paper wouldn’t fit between the two vehicles (ok, I know that’s an exaggeration!), nerves absolutely shredded.

We had no trouble once we hit the freeway though, speeding back over Mooney Mooney Bridge in the watery winter sunshine – always an exhilarating experience.  What an amazing expanse of man made structure that is!  Kel was unsure about the turn off to Cessnock but in the end we found it with no trouble.  The trip from the freeway into Cessnock was picturesque to say the very least, so green and very peaceful.  We came across the Brunkerville church cemetery where my bother Doug was laid to rest, and so we made a quick detour.  Even though we didn’t have flowers to leave, it was a lovely opportunity to visit the grave and it became quite obvious that my sister-in-law Barb had been out recently as there were lovely yellow flowers brightening up the plaque.

When we arrived at Barb’s place a bit after 12 noon it was like a small reunion!  Mandy – my niece – was there as well and she and Barb had made a lovely hot lunch of Corned Silverside and Vegies.  The meal was really yummy and we ate it as we chatted and laughed and caught up with each other.  Kellie and I would have been happy with a jam sandwich, so we thought it was very thoughtful of Barb and Mandy to cook us a hot meal instead. After lunch I showed Barb and Mandy what I was working on for my blog, and then we got into going over some of Barb’s photo albums.  Aren’t old photo’s a delight to look at. They inspired us to laugh some more and brought back long forgotten memories of some of our family – what an absolute joy!

Kellie and I spent a wonderful hour or so going through photo after photo with Barb, and jotting down the ones that we wanted to get copies of.  Barb very generously offered to have them copied for us, and I for one, can’t wait to get them in the mail.  There will be photo’s I don’t currently have of my brother Doug, and also my Mum, so when I get them they will be treasured.

All too soon Kel and I had to get back on the road so that we wouldn’t be getting back to Forster after dark.  What a cherished opportunity it had been to visit with my sister-in-law.  The rain did start to pelt down again but Kellie and I made good time back to Forster.  Once we were settled in Kel put on some Pumpkin Soup and we had it with Parmesan Bread which we toasted.

The weekend had been very special to me as it had been focused on spending time with my wonderful family.  I don’t know of any better way to spend time than laughing with, eating with, remembering with and hugging my sisters, sister-in-law, niece, nephews and brother-in-law.

Leave a Reply

